The Complete List of Candidates on the Ballot in Montgomery County

Now that the deadline to file to be on the 2022 primary ballot has passed, the Texas Citizen Journal has been able to compile a complete list of candidates who will appear on your ballot. With many open seats and several crowded fields, this primary season promises to be an interesting one.

Below is a complete list of contested races and the candidates who have officially filed to run in the 2022 Republican primary election:


2nd Congressional District:

Dan Crenshaw (i)

Martin Etwop

Jameson Ellis

Milam Langella

8th Congressional District:

Morgan Luttrell

Christian Collins

Jonathan Hullihan

Taylor Whichard

Dan McKaughan

Michael Philips

Candace Burrows

Chuck Montgomery

Betsy Brooks

Jessica Wellington

Jonathan Mitchell



Greg Abbott (i)

Rick Perry

Don Huffines

Allen West

Chad Prather

Danny Harrison

Kandy Kaye Horn

Paul Belew

Lt. Governor:

Dan Patrick (i)

Trayce Bradford

Zach Vance

Daniel Miller

Aaron Sorrels

Todd Bullis

Attorney General:

Ken Paxton (i)

George P. Bush

Louie Gohmert

Eva Guzman

Agriculture Commisioner:

Sid Miller (i)

James White

Carey Counsil

Land Commissioner:

Dawn Buckingham

Weston Martinez

John Spiers

Rufus Lopez

Ben Armenta

Victor Avila

Don Minton

Tim Westley


Glenn Hegar (i)

Mark Goloby

Railroad Commissioner:

Wayne Christian (i)

Dwayne Tipton

Tom Slocum

Marvin Summers

Sarah Stogner

Texas Supreme Court, Place 9:

Evan Young (i)

David Schenck

Texas House District 3:

Cecil Bell (i)

Kelly McDonald

Texas House District 15:

Steve Toth (i)

Maris Blair

Texas House District 18:

Ernest Bailes (i)

Janis Holt

Stephen Missick

Ronnie Tullos

Justice, 9th Court of Appeals, Place 2:

Stephanie Hall

Jay Wright


County Judge:

Mark Keough (i)

Sarah Countryman

Billy Graff

County Court at Law 1:

John Hafley

Brian Cain

County Court at Law 3:

Amy Tucker (i)

Laura Watson

County Court at Law 4:

Echo Hutson

Gary Miller

County Clerk:

Brandon Steinmann

Jeanie Stewart

County Commissioner Precinct 2:

Charlie Riley (i)

Jennifer Eckhart

County Commissioner Precinct 4:

James Metts (i)

Matt Gray

Published by Reagan Reed

Reagan is a journalist and educator from East Texas. He has been involved in numerous campaigns, worked at the Texas Legislature, and covered Texas politics for years as a journalist.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: